image of phoneCall us on
0300 555 0333
For our minicom call 0300 555 1777. We are open 8.30am to 5.30pm Mon-Fri. Calls will cost no more than calls to national geographic numbers (starting 01 or 02) from both mobiles and landlines.

For more information on the ways to contact us click here.
corner image
  • go to our about section
    The Legal Ombudsman is an independent and free service - find out more about us
  • go to our publications page
    Take at look at our other guides and factsheets to help you when making a complaint
  • go to the step by step guide page
    Want to find out more about how the complaint process works?

Finding a lawyer

Association of Costs Lawyers www.associationofcostslawyers.co.uk (opens in a new window)

Chartered Institute of Legal Executives (CILEx) www.cilex.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Chartered Institute of Patent Attorneys www.cipa.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Claims Management Regulation www.claimsregulation.gov.uk (opens in a new window)

Council for Licensed Conveyancers (probate practitioner) www.clc-uk.org (opens in a new window)

Council for Licensed Conveyancers www.clc-uk.org (opens in a new window)

Professional Negligence Lawyers Association www.pnla.org.uk (opens in a new window)

The Bar Council www.barcouncil.org.uk (opens in a new window)

The Faculty Office www.facultyoffice.org.uk (opens in a new window)

The Law Society of England and Wales www.lawsociety.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Intellectual Property Regulation Board www.ipreg.org.uk (opens in a new window)

The Notaries Society www.thenotariessociety.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Institute of Professional Willwriters www.ipw.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Institute of Trade Mark Attorneys www.itma.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Office of the Immigration Services Commissioner www.oisc.homeoffice.gov.uk/how_to_find_a_regulated_immigration_adviser (opens in a new window)

Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners www.step.org (opens in a new window)

Society of Will Writers www.thesocietyofwillwriters.co.uk (opens in a new window)



Other advice and support services

Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service (ACAS) www.acas.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Age UK www.ageuk.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Citizens Advice Bureaux www.citizensadvice.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Equality and Human Rights Commission www.equalityhumanrights.com (opens in a new window)

LawWorks (Solicitors Pro Bono) www.lawworks.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Liberty (aka National Council for Civil Liberties) www.liberty-human-rights.org.uk (opens in a new window)

MIND www.mind.org.uk (opens in a new window)

National Youth Advocacy Service (NYAS) www.nyas.net (opens in a new window)

Rights of Women www.rightsofwomen.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Samaritans www.samritans.org (opens in a new window)

Law Centres Federation www.lawcentres.org.uk (opens in a new window)

The Money Advice Service www.moneyadviceservice.org.uk (opens in a new window)



Other ombudsman and complaints handling services

Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS) www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Local Government Ombudsman www.lgo.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Ombudsman services www.ombudsman-services.org (opens in a new window)

The Property Ombudsman www.tpos.co.uk (opens in a new window)

Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman www.ombudsman.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Pensions Ombudsman www.pensions-ombudsman.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Prisons & Probation Ombudsman for England and Wales www.ppo.gov.uk (opens in a new window)

Independent Police Complaints Commission (IPCC) www.ipcc.gov.uk (opens in a new window)

Judicial Conduct Investigations Office www.judicialconduct.judiciary.gov.uk/ (opens in a new window)

Scottish Legal Complaints Commission www.scottishlegalcomplaints.com (opens in a new window)

Senior Courts Cost Office www.justice.gov.uk (opens in a new window)

Criminal Cases Review Commission www.ccrc.gov.uk (opens in a new window)



Other useful links

Bar Standards Board www.barstandardsboard.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Claims Management Regulation www.justice.gov.uk (opens in a new window)

Financial Conduct Authority www.fca.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Her Majesty's Courts Service (HMCS) www.justice.gov.uk (opens in a new window)

Information Commissioner (ICO) www.ico.gov.uk (opens in a new window)

IPS Professional Standards Limited www.cilex.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Land Registry www.landregistry.gov.uk (opens in a new window)

Law Society of Ireland www.lawsociety.ie (opens in a new window)

Law Society of Northern Ireland www.lawsoc-ni.org (opens in a new window)

Office of Fair Trading www.oft.gov.uk (opens in a new window)

Law Society of Scotland www.lawscot.org.uk (opens in a new window)

Legal Aid Agency www.gov.uk (opens in a new window)

Ministry of Justice www.justice.gov.uk (opens in a new window)

Office of the Public Guardian www.justice.gov.uk (opens in a new window)

Probate Service www.justice.gov.uk (opens in a new window)

Solicitors Regulation Authority www.sra.org.uk (opens in a new window)

UK Border Agency www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk (opens in a new window)